Skip to content

The David Bradley Memorial Prize

In 1988 Professor John and Mrs Brenda Bradley donated funds to the University to establish a Prize to commemorate the memory of their son David Bradley, a student in the Bachelor of Applied Science in Oenology in 1986 and 1987.

  1. The prize shall be known as ‘The David Bradley Memorial Prize’.
  2. The prize will have a value of $1000 and may be awarded annually.
  3. The prize will take the form of :
    · A $500 voucher from the Jam Factory
    · A $500 cheque for the recipient

    The winner will also have their name engraved on a perpetual trophy which remains at Waite Campus
  1. The prize will be awarded to the graduating student from the Bachelor of Viticulture and Oenology and Bachelor of Viticulture & Oenology (Honours) degree programs whose personal qualities, enthusiasm and aptitude indicate the promise of an outstanding contribution to the wine industry.
  2. The Head of the Department of Wine & Food Science will convene a Committee comprising representatives of the Department who have taught the eligible cohort of students to select the successful candidate. Professor and Mrs Bradley and their son, Paul Bradley, will be provided with the name of the successful candidate and provided with an opportunity to attend the awards ceremony.
  3. The prize may be withheld in any year if, in the opinion of the Department Committee, no candidate is of sufficient merit to justify the award.
  4. After the awarding of the prize, any surplus income (or the full income distribution from the Endowment Fund if the prize is not awarded), shall be applied towards books or journals for the Waite Library.
  5. These rules may be varied from time to time by the Faculty of Sciences in consultation with Professor and Mrs Bradley and Paul Bradley but the title and purpose of the award shall not be changed.

Past Winners

1988 Krister Jonsson 1989 Njal (Sparky) Marquis
1990 Peter Ramon Gago 1991 Adam John Eggins
1992 Peter William Godden 1993 Phillip John Dean
1994 Jeffrey P. Sinnott 1995 Christopher Duffy
Michael John Kerrigan
1996 Caroline Grace Dunn 1997 Allen Duncan Hart
1998 Alexander D. Mckay 1999 Louise Brightman
2000 Freya Alice Hohnen 2001 Andrew Lanauze
2002 Daniel Paul Stocker 2003 Alexander Godfrey
2004 Stephen Dean Hughes 2005 Benjamin E. Tanzer
2006 Mike Brister 2007 Stuart Rusted
2008 Matthew Laube 2009 Vanessa Robson
2010 Greg Lane 2011 Lara Renee Westaway
2012 Melanie Rae Chester 2013 Madalyn Freya Duncan Rivett
2014 Cale Otto 2015 Jessica Renae Schrapel
2016 Anna Kristina Jorgensen    
School of Agriculture,
Food and Wine

School of Agriculture Food & Wine


T: +61 8 8313 8149
F: +61 8 8313 7109

Student Enquiries

Call +61 8 8313 5673

(Monday - Friday: 9am – 5pm)

Search the Knowledge Base